Call Us Today! (503) 892.2995

Testimonials2020-12-14T13:39:21+00:00

Testimonials & Reviews

We do our best to deliver more than the customer expects, faster than they expected.

These folks were pleased enough that they took to the internet to let you know. Below we have compiled these reviews from various media outlets. For more reviews and to learn about our 4 year Best of Houzz Client Satisfaction rating visit Houzz.

See our Profile on Houzz
Angies List
Write a Review

Capital Builders

Call: (503) 892.2955
License Number: 181277
Job Range: $3,000 – $750,000

Best of Houzz 9 Years Straight

Dry Rot and Termite Damage – 5 Stars!

David and his crew stepped into a nightmare when we discovered dry rot and termite damage to the back of our house of a scope we could not have foreseen.  It was definitely nerve racking to face not only the initial damage we found out about, but how extensive it became. David was sensitive to how he communicated bad news to us as he kept us informed. 

Capital Builders Wins Best of Houzz for 8 Years

The Annual People’s Choice Award The Houzz Community Highlights Home Remodeling and Design Professionals with Most Popular Designs and Top Ratings Beaverton, OR February 16, 2020 – Capital Builders  of Beaverton, OR has won a “Best Of Houzz” award for Customer Service on Houzz®, the leading platform for home renovation and design. Capital Builders was chosen by the millions of homeowners that comprise the Houzz community from among more than 2.5 million active home building, remodeling and design industry professionals. The Best of Houzz badge is awarded annually, in three categories: Design, Customer Service and Photography. Design awards honor professionals whose work was the most popular among the Houzz community. Customer Service honors are based on several factors, including a pro's overall rating on Houzz and client reviews submitted in 2019. Architecture and interior design photographers whose images were most popular are recognized with the Photography award. A “Best of Houzz 2020” badge will appear on winners’ profiles as a sign of their commitment to excellence. These badges help homeowners identify popular and top-rated home professionals in every metro area on Houzz. “This year’s Best of Houzz awards go to an incredibly talented and service-oriented group of home remodeling and design professionals, and we’re proud to highlight the winners on the Houzz website and app,” said Liza Hausman, vice president of Industry Marketing for Houzz. “This award is particularly meaningful as it reflects the sentiment of the millions of homeowners in the Houzz community who are hiring home professionals for their projects across the U.S. and around the world.” Follow Capital Builders on Houzz » View on Houzz   About Houzz Houzz is the leading platform for home remodeling and design, providing people with everything they need to improve their homes from start to finish – online or from a mobile device. From decorating [...]

Recessed Lighting

Capital Builders did a fabulous job with our recess lighting job. David and his crew are amazing, patient and efficient. I would recommend them for any home remodel, build or construction need. Amanda Stanton Home Owner, December 7, 2017

They were very easy to work with … from Houzz

"We had Capital Builders replaced our front door and some thermal pane windows that had lost their seal. They communicated well and kept us informed, providing options and information that helped us through the process. They were very easy to work with, and the work was top notch." Bruce Bayne Project Date: November 2017 Project Price: $1,000 - $9,999 » Link to Review

Review for Capital Builders – Houzz

"We contacted David Sideras at Capital Builders out of urgent need to make dry rot repairs found during a pre-sale inspection of our home in December of 2018. Despite his full schedule, he made his crew available to us within a few days. I should mention here, we made this contact from out of state and largely by internet connections. We finally met about 2 weeks into the project after we returned home, and the work he had been doing was first rate, professional and as promised and ahead of deadline. As well as the needed repairs, he thoroughly inspected the rest of the house and made important improvements to mitigate the reoccurrence of issues leading up to the need for repair. We found David and his crew to be trustworthy and honest and will not hesitate to rely on him again for other larger projects, and will refer family and friends to him for their home project needs." Mike and Berta Keller Project Date: December 2018 Project Price Range: $1,000 - $9,999 » Link to review

Capital Builders was great! – Houzz

"They put in our recess lighting in 1 day, and were very speedy and efficient. I would highly recommend David and his business for any remodeling, building, or home improvement needs." Karoline Stanton-Holt Project Date: October 2017 Project Price: $1,000 - $9,999 » Link to Review

Testimonial from Houzz

"We highly recommend using Capital Builders for your next construction project. In early 2017 they helped us complete a basement fit-out project that our family had been putting off for years. At our first meeting they provided constructive input and innovative design ideas that showed they have an abundance of expertise in the construction industry. They worked with us on their cost bid proposal to make adjustments that met our goals and budget. During construction they avoided pitfalls by staying in constant contact with us and keeping us informed on the progress. They handled unforeseen conditions with understanding and worked hard to keep the project budget in line. We were impressed with their professionalism, communication style, and design input throughout the entire project. The work they performed has already added to the overall value of our home! Now we can finally use our newly renovated basement space they way we've always wanted. Thanks Capital Builders!" Zach Hilleson Project Date: May 2017 Project Price Range: $10,000 - $49,999 » Link to review

Replaced the Roof on My Home

Capital Builders replaced the roof on my home, while it was 27 degrees outside, with complete professionalism, attention to detail, & swift (brrrr!) completion. The second that a drop of water came from those Portland grey clouds, the tarps went up--not one thing was even damp while whole house was open to the sky. On-time, good communication with David Sideras' direction, left no mess, & finished ahead of time. Dream contractors! Would recommend them to anyone. Cynthia W., Scappoose, OR Review from Yelp

Testimonial from Colleague on Houzz.com

"I have had the pleasure of working with Capital Builders on a couple of occasions and was impressed both times with their level of professionalism and building know-how. In one project, we had designed a couple of rather tricky elements (open staircase and wet room) and Capital Builders had no problem tackling both tasks and helping create two beautiful showcase element in the home" Jason Ball Interiors, LLC

Floating Home – Roof Replacement, posted on Houzz.com

"Capital Builders replaced the roof on my floating home,while it was 27 degrees outside, with complete professionalism, attention to detail, and swift completion. The crew was on time, co-ordinated with David Sideras' direction, left no mess, and finished before he was scheduled. No doubt that their style of workmanship would benefit any project! They were respectful with each other, and with me--sometimes this is a rare thing to see. Would recommend them to anyone." Cynthia White

New Construction: Positive Feedback posted to Houzz.com

"Really like the design for a small home. Please consider sliding windows for at least one window on each level so natural air can circulate the home. No cross breeze if only the patio door is open and not safe to have front door open unattended. Also would like laundry shelving. Just one or two above w/d. Would also be helpful to have TV cable not just up on wall. The trend is for wall-hanging TVs but there are still those who don't and don't want wires running everywhere. Like the position of windows, preventing neighbors from looking into each others' homes. Would be helpful to have vegetation ID and care guide in addition to appliance information. File folder with appliance information was great idea! Builder was very helpful post-closing with resolving move-in issues." jerseygirl2014

Client: Positive Feedback posted to Houzz.com

"My project: increase patio from 10x50 to 24x50, add hot tub with privacy screen, cover 20x24 section of patio with clear roofing. Hiring Capital Builders was the best decision I could have made. During construction, the work area remained clean and organized. The sub-contractor teams (concrete, electrical, construction) worked well together and were genuinely pleasant to have on site. My patio has surpassed my expectations, came in under budget, and on time. I wouldn't hesitate to work with Capital Builders again." Karen Simmons

Client: Positive Feedback posted to Houzz.com

"I am a single grandmother who needs help with some small jobs around the house from time to time. I have hired David Sideras with Capital Builders a few times now and each time he has come out to my house and completed the work I have requested with care and expertise. He gets to work right away and doesn't wast anytime while on the job. He has always done an excellent job, with a fair price and has always been respectful. I am so happy I found him because now I have someone I can rely on when I need help with repairs around my home. I would recommend him to everyone I know and have already told my family and friends." Susan Moon

Remodel: Positive Feedback posted to Houzz.com

“We have a home that was built in 1941 and we had a few projects we wanted to tackle this spring before our 3rd baby arrived. I started conversations with David in February and all the work was complete by April. David came over and walked through the concerns we had with the house. He was able to help me focus on the top 3 items that fit within our budget. David took a holistic approach to the service he could provide, which ensured we were receiving comprehensive solutions. The reasons I chose Capital Builders and the reasons I am happy with my choice are reliability, respect and quality. David is very responsive. He has a lot going on, but also made sure to get back to me in a timely manner. He also worked to establish timelines and then deliver on those promises. David is also very respectful of the fact that you have other things going on in your life. He made sure to find a good balance between progress and our capacity to be available. He also was very cognizant of our needs and did his best to accommodate them. Finally, Capital Builders are very particular about the quality of the work. Everything is thought of on a project and no pieces are left undone. For example, one of the windows that was delivered had a defect. They noticed it and brought it to my attention right away. This caused a slight delay in the delivery of the work and caused the team to have to come back an additional day that they were not planning on. The defect on the window was in a place that it could have easily been hidden with molding, but they knew long term the defect would compromise the stability of the [...]

New Construction: Positive Feedback posted to Houzz.com

"I recently had my first home built by Capital Builders, and it was such a wonderful and collaborative experience! David, the owner of the company, is very experienced and hands-on, and likes to be involved in every step of the creative process, offering advice on which quality materials to select, experience with what will last, and has a vast knowledge of the long-term and short term costs of almost anything home-related. As a first-time home buyer, I had no idea what I was getting into, so I was happy to have him just a text or an email away if I had any questions about the construction, appliances, fixtures or even paint and flooring. The fact that I was highly involved in the design of the home was a huge plus for me, as I am a designer by trade, and David was such a saint to put up with all my additions, changes and upgrades to the kitchen, flooring, bathrooms etc. It was so reassuring to be working with a builder who was open to new ideas and to thinking outside the box. Even now that I have moved in, David is close by, working on other construction in the neighborhood, and he has continued to check in to see if everything is running smoothly and working as it should. Overall, this was such a good experience - especially in the scary process of designing and purchasing my first home! I would highly recommend Capital Builders for any type of home build, remodel, or even just for consultation and advice!" Rosaleen Gallagher

Rehab for Sale, Home Maintenance

2011-2012 "This company provides fast, quality service to a variety of household needs and is always accurate to the estimated dollar quotes. I would recommend Capital Builders to anyone that values a top notch service experience." - Michael Hogan

Relocate Laundry Room, Home Maintenance

"Capital Builders is a fine, reputable company. They are professional and organized. As a homeowner, I have had opportunity to work with many different contractors specializing in an array of disciplines. Few I would work with again. However, Capital Builders is one of the best. I asked them to move my laundry room to a different area of my house. The job involved electrical, plumbing and drywall repair. It was orchestrated with little disturbance to our household. They were clean and polite…personally and professionally. I would recommend them to anyone." - Christine Prockish

Client: Positive Feedback posted to Houzz.com

"I hired Capital Builders, LLC to do a complete remodel/reconfiguration of a busy healthcare clinic. Their amazing insight into our needs and design choices quickly alleviated an internal "impasse" my staff and I had reached. We soon accepted their very reasonable bid. They were more than accommodating with project timing to reduce impact on our business. Their work quality was beyond our expectations and there were no "surprise" cost overruns. They receive my highest rating." sscheerdc

Real Estate Broker: Positive Feedback posted to Houzz.com

"I am a licensed real estate broker in the Portland area who has the pleasure of working with David Sideras of Capitol Builders for the past 7 years. One of the strongest things I can tell you about David is that his work is always impeccable! He never cuts corners & is a perfectionist when it comes to the finer details. He has always practiced the philosophy of "Either you do it right or you don't do it at all" I have also often been impressed with his uncanny ability to come up with a design that will compliment any space. You will definitely be impressed if you hire Capital Builders for your building needs!" Mark Didier

Client: Positive Feedback posted to Houzz.com

"David Sideras who is Capital Builders provided friendly, cordial and professional service in all phases. Would have rated with 5 stars but the sub contractor he selected to replace my houseboat's metal roof had to return twice before the chimney collar was waterproofed to rain. But David was very responsive to the leak problem and did his best to get the sub-contractor to do timely repairs required. I would strongly endorse the company and will definitely call David if I have future home repair needs."

New Construction, Remodeling, Home & Property Maintenance

"I have worked with Capital Builders who has built homes for clients of mine. I have also referred Capital Builders for several remodeling jobs. They have always been respectful, easy to deal with and communicated throughout the project. Very professional. Would HIGHLY recommend!!" - Rob Young - October 2012

Home Remodel: Feedback posted to Houzz.com

"We have known David Sideras, as friend, for years and always liked his work. We liked his sense of design and the quality of his work. A couple of years ago, after talking to multiple GC's about remoding our home, and getting bids that were obviously generic and not well thought out, we decided to risk our friendship and asked David to bid on the project. His bid was well thought out, and actually pretty reasonable, considering we were doing a whole-house remodel from the sheetrock out. The most surprising thing was the timeline -- He said he could have it done in two months. Our neighbors immediately started betting on when it would be done, with the favorite bet being 6 months or longer. It actually took 2 and a half months, not because of anything David did, but because the first kitchen sink we chose, we didn't like, and it took 3 weeks to get another sink."  

Client: Positive Feedback posted to Houzz.com

"Capital Builders is a fine reputable company. They are professional and organized. As a homeowner I have had opportunity to work with many different contractors specializing in an array of disciplines. Few I would work with again. However, Capital Builders is one of the best. I asked them to move my laundry room to a different area of my house. The job involved, electrical, plumping and drywall repair. It was orchestrated with little disturbance to our household. They were clean and polite…personally and professionally. I would recommend them to anyone." procked

Commercial Tenant Improvement

Scappoose Chiropractic Clinic - Reception "Thank you for your good work on our front office. I don't know what impressed me the most; your quiet patience in guiding us through the tortuous planning/decision process, or the timely and surgical precision in which you executed our plan. I surely look forward to working with you again on future projects." - Dr. Stephen Scheer

New Construction on Acreage

"David built a house for me in 2002. He was an excellent person to work with. Very detail oriented. I highly recommend him.” Great Results, Personable, High Integrity - Robert Poster » View Project

Full Remodel

“I've known David as a friend for years and have always admired his work. It is well done and of high quality. When the time came to hire a general contractor for our full-house remodel, we interviewed a lot of contractors, but, based on the quality of work we saw, his integrity, and personable nature, David was our hands-down choice. Since working with David as a client, I've come to admire how hard he works to provide good value for the money, and keep the job on schedule.” Great Results, Good Value, High Integrity - Tom Drakeley & Brenda Kahlen